h1

Escape from the igloo, conclusion

December 5, 2008

A knock sounded on one of the doors, the one he hadn’t gone through before, and we both jumped. He went and answered it…

It was the doctor. The man came over to me and sat on a nearby chair, placing a little black bag on the ground. He rummaged through the bag for a moment and pulled out a small flashlight. Then he smiled at me. He seemed kind, but I was still afraid. What if something was wrong with me?

“Fae, right?” he asked. I shrugged. I supposed that was right. That was what the man had called me. “OK. Your husband says you have some amnesia, that you can’t remember some things. Is this correct?” I nodded. My husband? So that man was my husband? Why couldn’t I remember? And I still didn’t know his name. The doctor smiled gently. “Well, Fae, my name is Dr. Manning. I’m going to turn on this little flashlight here,” he waved the flashlight around, “and look into your eyes. I’m not going to hurt you, though, I may need to hold your head to help you get in the right position for me to see. All right?” I nodded again. “Good. Now look over my left shoulder please.” I followed his instructions and he proceeded to examine me, looking into my eyes, having me move my head around, follow his finer with my eyes, etc. He got up and felt my head, looking for bumps, I guess. He prodded my scalp in one particular place and I jumped.

“Ouch,” I said. The doctor felt the area gently. “Hmmm, Quite a bump there, Young Lady. I’d say you knocked into something pretty hard.” He motioned for the man – my husband – to come closer. He’d been standing nearby, but had given the doctor some space to work. “I’m going to recommend she come to the hospital for observation and treatment.  Do you have all of her information?”  The man nodded. “Good. I’ll have you come with use to check her in, then I want you to find pictures, momentos, anything that might jog her memory. Understand?” Another nod. “OK. I’ll wait outside the door while you two get ready.” THe doctor gathered his things and headed out to the hallway.

The man sighed and ran his hand through his hair. “Stay there. I’ll get your coat and purse.” He went to the closet and picked out a simple but stylish black coat and a small leather purse. He handed them to me and I stood up and put them on. Then I watched him get his own things. As he was pulling on his jacket, I confessed, embarrassed and sad that I might hurt him, “I can’t remember your name.” He looked up, his eyes sad and fearful.

“Josh.” Then we went to the hospital. I don’t remember much of the next week. It’s all kind of a blur.  Thankfully, we had a bunch of pictures online, so Josh was able to find stuff pretty easily to help me. And I had friends who came over too. I regained a few memories, but nothing major, until the doctor recommended I try hypnotherapy. Josh and I both figured it couldn’t hurt, and I’m so glad now we did it.  It wasn’t an all at once thing, and it took several sessions, but eventually, we figured out what had happened:

Josh, I, and some friends decided to go out of town to celebrate Josh’s birthday. One night, after dinner, the guys and girls separated and each had our own night on the town. My friends and I had gone to a couple of night clubs. It was very hot in one of the places, so I stepped outside for some air. Some guy had come up to me and tried to rob me. I refused and he shoved me. The heel on my show broke, stupid stilettos, and I fell and conked my head on something. I don’t know if it was just the ground or some object on the ground. I guess the guy got scared and ran without taking anything, since I still had my purse and money and everything when my friends found me lying there. They were pretty drunk, and I guess they thought I was, too, and had passed out. Anyway, they grabbed a cab and brought me back to the hotel.

It’s been several months since that night and most of my memories have gradually come back. It’s been kind of nice to fall in love with my husband once again, and neither of us will ever take each other for granted anymore, I think.  I gave a description of the mugger to the police, but they never caught the guy. Oh well. Its probably just as well. I don’t think I’d want to face him again anyway. We’re taking a trip to see my in-laws in a couple of weeks. Glad I remember who they are now, otherwise that would be pretty awkward.  We’re getting a hotel, but Josh and I are in definite agreement – no igloos.

Leave a Reply

