h1

Writer’s Workshop

December 3, 2008

The Prompts:

1.) Tag! Post and write about the 6th picture from (the 6th folder of?) your Flickr account and then do the same for the 6th picture of the 6th folder on your computer.

2.) Are you still friends with you high school friends? Describe them.

3.) If you had to star in a reality tv show, which one would it be and why?

4.) Describe a time when your pet caused chaos.

I’ll do numbers 1 and 4 because I’m only doing half of the first prompt. My pics are on my other computer and I’m just too lazy to go downstairs, find the 6th pic in the sixth folder and continue writing this post. Besides, I’m holding Princess. So anyway, the first part of numero uno: the 6th image in the sixth folder of my photobucket account is…


Tee hee

It’s a pic of Princess back in September when she was 3 months old ( I can’t believe she’s going to be 6 months old in a couple of days). We had her on our bed and were attempting to get a photo of her and our cat, with little success. My mom was visiting us at the time. I don’t remember if she was the one making Princess giggle or if we were trying to get the baby to smile for pictures with the kitty.  

Number four is a bit harder. I mean, our pets are the very definition of chaos at times. I’ll tell the story of our dog when we first got her, though. We got Maya from the Humane Society as an adult dog, somewhere between 3 and 6 years old, they didn’t really know. It was in the first few weeks after we’d gotten her and we were still developing the pet/owner bond and hadn’t taken her to obedience class or anything yet. Well, Hubby got bit by a rattlesnake (yes, a rattlesnake – I don’t recommend it to anyone. If you want to hear the full story, say so in the comments and I’ll write a separate post about it). So, he was in the hospital for about a week and I was with him most of the day since I wasn’t working at the time. Our dog had a bad habit when we got her to go running our the door full tilt and we’d then have to go chase her. She did this several times. The first night that Hubby was in the hospital, I called our friends to let them know what was going on and they came over to keep me occupied so I wouldn’t go down the anxiety trail. Well, they didn’t close the front door well, and, before we knew it, Maya (the dog) went running down the street. Maya is a mostly black dog. It was night time. It’s hard to see a black dog at night time. So, we all went running after her and eventually caught her and dragged her back home. We were at least lucky and she didn’t go far that time. Another time we had to get the neighbors to take their dogs out to see if it would attract Maya (it did) and another time I managed to corner her when she went into someone’s backyard. Now she’s content to stay with us and we can have the door open and she usually won’t even go out of it, unless she’s really excited cause there’s someone at the door, like the pizza delivery guy. I guess she was just doing her part to take my mind off Hubby in the hospital. Such as good puppy dog. lol

I just thought of another pet chaos story. When Hubby and I were first living together way back when, we got two kittens from the Humane Society. They were from the same litter and were as cute as can be ( We still have one, Rowan, but the other, Lovelace, died a few years ago). Well, as responsible kitty owners, we took them to the vet and got them spayed. The vet used staples to close the incisions. This was done about the time Hubby and I graduated college and all our family were there. This was the first time I was meeting Hubby’s parents because they were living in China at the time while his dad worked over there. So, we were all going out to dinner after graduation, and Hubby and I went home quickly to change and check on the kitties. Well, Lovelace had licked all her staple right out. So, we called the vet and I had to go take her in to get restapled while Hubby went to the restaurant and explained what was going on (this was in the days before cell phones – hard to believe there was such a time). I eventually joined up with everyone at the restaurant, but it definitely was not the way I imagined meeting my future in-laws for the first time. lol



8 comments

  1. Visiting from MamaKat’s writing workshop links…I absolutely LOVE the photo! Sometimes you get the best photos by accident! Cute stories too.


  2. Awwww….that gummy little smile is precious!

    I applaud you on your getting your animals from the Humane Society too. We get other people’s problems when we get older pets but it’s worth it.


  3. Staples? Youch. Do they do that to humans, too? Funny story. Thanks for sharnig.


  4. Pets may cause us some inconviences but the love they give back is worth it. Though right now we have too much love in our house – we have 10 puppies plus our 3 dogs. The puppies aren’t lacking for love though, with 7 of us they get held a lot.


  5. Your daughter is precious and I love the pet stories. They are around to keep us on our toes. haha


  6. cute photo. Kids grow way to fast, there should be some law against it or something.


  7. Lovely stories. Thank you.


  8. Awww baby is adorable! I can’t believe how fast they grow. I bet she’ll love growing up with puppy love in the house!



Leave a Reply

