h1

Writer’s Workshop

November 20, 2008

1.) The last time I laughed really hard…
2.) Forgive and forget…I think.

3.) I remember when…

4.) Write about something that bothered you this week.

5.) Write a poem about a favorite color.

I’m taking the easy way out this week and doing number 4. Something that bothered me this week (as well as last week) was the bathrooms being redone in our house. Hubby and I rent a townhouse in the Northern Virginia suburbs (the “fake” Virginia). I really want to buy a house, but until funding comes through for Hubby to be hired full time – which will hopefully happen in the next couple of month, though Hubby did apply for a job in the Obama administration as a backup, lol – we’re stuck renting. THe place isn’t bad. It’s a townhouse with 3 bedrooms, 2 full and 2 half baths, a finished basement (we got one of those pool tables that turns over into an air hockey table when we moved in so we could have a game room – Craig’s List rocks cause we found one really cheap) fenced in backyard – a must with our doggy. But, it was built in the late 60’s and is starting to show its age. THe linoleum floor in the kitchen is coming up, the tiles in the upstairs bathrooms was cracked and starting to come off the wall,  there’s a crack in the counter of the main floor bathroom, the banister needs to be fixed, etc. If I ever bought the place I’d probably gut it. But, I don’t plan on buying it, and I don’t own it, so any repairs have to be done through our landlords. They’re a nice couple, but it takes them a while to get stuff done.

So, to the topic. About a year ago, I mentioned that the tile in the shower in the master bath needed to be replaced. It was coming off the wall in one corner. Even worse, I noticed a water stain in the ceiling of the main floor below the shower and figured it was from the tiles. So, we took pics and e-mailed the landlords and I taped up the area around the tile to prevent any more water from leaking through and we waited.  And waited and waited and waited… Finally, they got a couple of contractors in for quotes and hired a guy to do the work. He estimated a week to do one bathroom and another week to do the guest bathroom, which also needed work.

I try not to judge people on first impressions, but this guy has been getting on my nerves for the past 2 and a half weeks, so I figure I have the right to vent. First off, he smells like an ashtray every time he walks into the house. And I don’t know where he comes from, but he sounds like he’s some hick from the backwoods mountain country or something. “You know, them therefore that says I do a great job”. I am not making this stuff up, he really talks like this. And once he starts talking, he never stops. About anything. At one point, I came up to put Princess down for a nap. I put her in her crib for a second so I could just check on the guy’s progress. I made the mistake of letting him talk. She started crying – you could hear it quite plainly on the monitor in our bedroom – and he wouldn’t stop talking so I could go get her. Hello?! And, of course, all the noise from the work kept waking her up when she was trying to sleep, so the only way I could get her to take a decent nap was to hold her in my arms. So I have spent the past two weeks essentially holed up in the nursery getting absolutely nothing done. On the plus side, I finished listening to Emma by Jane Austen on the computer. He’s finally just about done, so this weekend I will be running around like a mad woman trying to pack and wrap presents and everything for our trip to see the in-laws in North Carolina for Thanksgiving.

OK. Rant over. On a different topic, stay tuned, I will post pics of some more tutus that I made. I’ve been kinda tutu crazy. They’re fun to make and pretty quick, and I can make them in spurts while Princess is sleeping. A lot of times I put her on a blanket and let her roll around (she rolls over onto her tummy now. She rolled onto her back one day last week, several times, and hasn’t done it since, so she just goes onto her tummy, gets tired of being that way and whines until I help her roll back over, after which she proceeds to go right back onto her tummy and whine again – kids) while I pin together the fabric.

Also, I have to share these. I love paper craft, making paper models. My favorite is a robot. I’ll have to see if I can find the link or just put up the pdf here for you. There are a couple of blogs I go to for paper crafts, which should be in my blog roll, and, in surfing around I found these paper models of a big-nosed dog on Amazon. They have him in costumes fro various countries. How cute!! BTW, if you go to Amazon to order anything, do me a favor and use the link I have at the bottom of the side column.

Well, I am all through being prolix (if you don’t know what that means, read yesterday’s post). Au revoir.

5 comments

  1. i love the line of dialog…that is truly bothersome in my eyes also. hope things get better soon!


  2. Ew. Repair guy sounds awful. Hope it gets done soon!!
    The tutus sound adorable and fun!! 🙂


  3. Hmm, I never knew what prolix meant!! Anyway – contractors like that are a pain in the neck – can’t they just get on with the job!!!


  4. Not to completely disregard your completely valid rant, but I have been into tutus lately too! I found some super cute ones on etsy and I am also digging those frilly pettiskirts. SO cute!


  5. I was originally going to get a tutu dress on etsy, but then decided I could make my own for half as much as what the people were charging. The burden of being a crafter – I always feel guilty paying someone for something I could make myself



Leave a Reply

