h1

Wednesday’s Word

November 12, 2008

soiree \swah-RAY\, noun:
an evening party or social gathering

I need to be invited to more soirees.  Fancy events where I can wear fancy dresses.  I mean, I have all these pretty dresses from college (of course I probably can’t fit into them anymore) and from Christmas parties and who knows when I will get to wear them again.  And don’t even mention walking through Macy’s or whatever at the mall and seeing the beautiful dresses and just sighing because I know I have absolutely nothing to wear them to.  I wanna dress up, dammit!  OK.  Rant over.

Bonus words: I liked these words, but couldn’t think of anything to write with them.

cabotage • \KAB-uh-tahzh\  noun
1 : trade or transport in coastal waters or airspace or between two points within a country
*2 : the right to engage in coastal trade or transport

 sidereal \sy-DEER-ee-uhl\, adjective:
measured or determined by the daily motion of the stars; of or having to do with the stars or constellations

exurb noun: 
A residential area outside a city and beyond its suburbs, typically inhabited by well-to-do families.

Leave a Reply

