h1

Writer’s Workshop

November 6, 2008

First off, sorry this is so late.  Princess has decided to go back to 40 minute naps the past few days and the shower in our bathroom is being replaced as well, so home’s kinda hectic. On top of this, Hubby went to some talk or something after work yesterday so he didn’t get home until late, I’m attempting to get all of the Christmas gifts squared away to give to Hubby’s family when we see them at Thanksgiving, trying to find time to fix up all the October photos to put online for the family to see, and we might or might not have people over for dinner tomorrow night – apparently they may have flaked.  God, I need a vacation.  Anyway, here goes:

The Prompts:

1.) You awaken with amnesia in what looks to be an igloo. You have $4 and a rock in one pocket, and a toothbrush in the other. Someone is staring at you. Write this scene.

2.) Write a 16-line poem (rhyming or non-rhyming) about a moment from your childhood that changed your life for the better.

3.) You’re sitting at work one day and receive a text message from an unrecognized number. The text says, “I have the money and hid the body.” You think this is a practical joke from a friend, so you play along at first. But the more texts you receive, the more you realize that it isn’t a joke. Write the text conversation you have with this unknown texter.

4.) 10 of my absolute worst pet peeves…

5.) Fictionalize an event that happened to one of your parents, friends, or siblings.

OK.  I’m going with number one:

I awoke suddenly, gasping for breath as if I had just been saved from drowning. As awareness flooded my body, I longed to go back into the dark, dreamless sleep, the dull thudding in my head preventing me from returning to that peaceful rest.  I sat up slightly, wincing as the pain flared, then slowly looked around.

What the…?  I appeared to be in some sort of… igloo?  Yes, that was the word, a small domed structure made of ice.  At least, that’s what it looked like.  What was I doing here?  I racked my memory, but came up blank.  There wasn’t much to see in the igloo.  I lay in a sleeping bag, on top of which were several soft blankets.  I had on a long shirt and underwear, but noticed some pants folded on a cushion close by.  A glass of water and a bowl of something, soup, perhaps, were next to the cushion.  I grabbed the pants and pulled them on, rummaging in the pockets as I did.

Not much there.  Certainly nothing that could help me.  Four singles, neatly folded.  A little round, dark brown pebble.  A green toothbrush, the travel kind. I put the money and toothbrush back in my pockets and examined the rock, as if it could tell me how I’d come to be in this place. My stomach rumbled, so I put the pebbled down beside me and reached for the bowl.  It was warm, still.  Someone must have put it there just before I awoke.  I smelled it.  Some sort of broth. I sipped gingerly, not sure if I should trust it, but hunger took control after a few sips and I slurped the rest down greedily. I was about halfway done with the soup when I froze.  I felt a pair of eyes on me.  I looked up, and there, at the entrance to the igloo was…

Stay tuned for what happens next!  🙂

To see other entries, go to:

2 comments

  1. I’m staying tuned. 🙂 Great Post!!!


  2. Oooh…a suspenseful mystery…off to a good start!!



Leave a Reply

