h1

Writer’s workshop

October 30, 2008

The Prompts:

1.) Write from the point of view of a glass at the edge of the table.
2.) Describe a typical day during your Jr. High years.

3.) Why do you write?

4.) When I’m around too much negativity I…

5.) You’ve been hired as a writer for “Late Show with David Letterman.” Your first assignment is to come up with a witty, nonpolitical Top Ten list for him to read on air.

 

I’ll do number 1: a glass at the edge of my table – the living room table.

  I sit here at the edge of the table and lead a pretty boring existence. I am emptied and refilled and watch life go by. The dog sometimes comes by and sniffs me or I am beaten by her tail as she goes past, but, overall, it’s a pretty humdrum life I lead. Occasionally something exciting will happen to me, like the time the human woman tripped on the power cord of my friend, the laptop. He sits on the table with me, but he gets to travel to the outside world. I love to listen to his stories.  Anyway, she tripped over his cord and the next thing I knew, her hand was sweeping over the table right in my direction.  Well, as you know, I have no legs, so I couldn’t exactly do anything about it.  So, smack, I fell down and spilled my innards all over the table, even on Laptop.  I was so embarrassed.  The humans yelled and quickly took Laptop away to be dried.  He came out okay, thankfully.  To my shame, I was replaced with Plastic Bottle.  She has a cap and won’t spill, though, i heard she was cheap and started leaking, so I don’t feel too bad.  Someday, i will return to my prided place in the living room.  Until then, I am content to live among my brothers and sisters and be glad when i am chosen to be used by the humans.

6 comments

  1. Clever! i love the part about being embarrassed. 🙂


  2. It’s so embarrassing when you spill your innards all over… I’m blushing just thinking about it!

    Great post! 🙂


  3. I enjoyed reading about the humdrum life of a glass. The bottle is cheap, too – a hussy, even!

    Nice work!


  4. Eek!! Glad the laptop’s okay. Sorry your glass feels so ashamed over its replacement. 😉


  5. That’s so cute!


  6. Our glasses have had a similar life span…only they’ve been replaced by the “sippy cup”…insulting. 😉



Leave a Reply

