h1

Writers Workshop

October 22, 2008

Today’s Prompts:

1.) Complete the sentence “I’d walk a mile for a ________.” and continue writing about it.

2.) Describe in detail a person who leaves no stone unturned.

3.) When out to lunch with co-workers, you bump into a close friend who refers to you by a nickname. Because of its unusualness, the nickname catches the interest of one of your co-workers who asks for the story behind it. Start your story with, “This may come as a surprise, but … ” and end it with, “And that’s how I got the nickname (fill in the blank).”

4.) Write about an intense game of Scrabble that takes an ugly turn for the worse.

This week’s a hard group.  Not really sure what to write. I can’t think of anything I’d walk a mile for.  Maybe a piano.  I really want a piano.  Besides, a mile isn’t really that far, but it would depend how lazy I felt that day. The Scrabble game might make an interesting work of fiction.  I’m too tired tonight to write it, but maybe if I get a chance tomorrow I’ll play with the story.  I play scrabble online on Facebook all the time, mostly with Hubby who’s a big Scrabble fan.

I’ll write about number three, but I’m changing it a bit. I don’t really have any nicknames.  My name’s pretty simple, so it doesn’t really require a nickname.  Hubby calls me a few romantic ones, but that’s neither here nor there.  So, instead, I’m going to tell the story of how I got my name.  My name is Kelly Dawn.  my mother had me later in life and my two brothers are much older than me.  They were 11 and 13 years old when I was born.  THey were very excited about me and they really wanted a baby sister.  This was before the days of ultrasounds, so my parents didn’t know what gender I’d be, but my mother figured she’d already had two boys, so she’d probably have another.  My brothers made a deal with her. They said that if I turned out to be a girl, they wanted to name me.  My mom agreed (silly woman). Lo and behold, I’m a girl! So my brothers named me.  The names they chose were two characters from their favorite TV show, Charlie’s Angels.

14 comments

  1. I don’t remember a Dawn from Charlie’s Angels. It is a pretty name though. You could have been Charlie Angel. Which still would have been cute.

    You should be able to name your brothers kids. What’s your favorite TV show?


  2. Good thing they weren’t in a hardcore Scooby Doo phase “Scrappy Velma” would just set you up for all sorts of grade school drama!!


  3. Oh my goodness, that is a great story on how you got your name.


  4. I can’t even tell you their names on the show, but I know who the actresses were. That’s funny that they chose that show to pull from. Wherever they got them, Kelly Dawn has a nice ring to it. GB!!


  5. I think that was sweet of your mom to let your brothers name you.. and I think Kelly Dawn is good..

    My brother would have named me Froto. Ugh.


  6. Great story…. what a nice way to welcome you into the family!! 🙂


  7. That’s too funny! At least they were cute names…boy you really could have been in some trouble with that one. I love it.


  8. That’s great that your mom stuck to her end of the bargain! My daughter wanted to name our baby Emily Elizabeth from Clifford. I let her keep the Elisabeth part for the middle name but we chose a family name for her first name.


  9. What a cute story! Wow…your mom was really brave…but at least Kelly Dawn is a great name! They could really have thrown your mom for a loop and named you something terrible!


  10. I think thats kinds cool. The charlie’s angels are HOT! How sweet of your brother’s to want to name you. 🙂


  11. Kelly Dawn is a beautiful name. Our eldest son wanted to name our youngest “Farzle”. He got no say!


  12. Under the circumstances, you really lucked out!! Kelly and Dawn are both good. My son wanted to name his baby brother Wolfgang. (No… we didn’t let him…)


  13. Oh my that could have turned out WAY worse given their choice of tv shoes…lol.

    my name is Dawn…cause that’s when I was born…


  14. Great story!!! Mine came from a romance novel my mom was reading. I would have rather have the brother story any day. 🙂



Leave a Reply

