h1

Writer’s Workshop

October 8, 2008

The Prompts:

1.) my 10 biggest fears.

2.) When I’m upset…

3.) Weave a poem that contains all these lines (in no particular order): “I tie the ribbon in a foolish way”, “the delicious fragility of this travesty”, “where we still laugh and wish”.

4.) Write about a memory related to a holiday.

OK, Let’s see.  Which one? I have way more than 10 fears and writing about them will make me think about them which will make me afraid and anxious and stuff.  I’ve found it’s much easier if you just push all those things down and ignore them.  When I’m upset?  THat’s too easy.  I yell  and scream or cry, then go off by myself and get over it.  Unless Hubby starts pushing my bottoms (we have very different ways of communicating – I’m a think it out then maybe talk about it and he’s a confrontationist). Then I stew over whatever has me upset for a while. I can think of no way to incorporate those lines into a poem, though the topic of motherhood definitely comes to mind with the whole “fragility/travesty” line.  My creative juice is running pretty low these days.

So, holiday memory it is.  I’ll write about Thanksgiving 2 years ago because it was very funny and I actually remember it.  That’s important.  Sometimes I’m lucky if I remember my own name.

We had just moved to our current place a few months before and decided to host Thanksgiving for my family.  It was going to be my folks and my brother’s family.  Hmmm.  I suppose I’ll have to think of nicknames for them while I write this.  Anyway, Thanksgiving is always a big deal for me because my birthday falls around or on the holiday (yes, everyone in the U.S.A. gives thanks for me). So, my folks were going to fly in from FL.  Then we got a phone call saying my mom had seriously thrown out her back and there was no way they could make it.  My brother (let’s call him Macho cause he’s a guy’s guy and likes guy things like sports and whatnot and macho stuff). and his family were still coming, though, so the holidays were still on.  We’d already gotten the turkey (now with a few more leftovers since we were minus two) and everything for the sides, including stuff we had no idea what to do with since my mom had requested them for recipes.

So the family comes down and there’s my and my sister-in-law, neither of whom has ever cooked a turkey, trying to figure it all out.  We made a few calls to mom for directions and recipes (my family makes a meat stuffing that we needed to get the recipe for) and got started.  We were doing good.  We set the timer on the stove and basted every 30 minutes.  Several hours into the roasting, the guys went in to baste the turkey and Hubby noticed the oven felt cool.  Sure enough, the oven was off.  It hadn’t started that way, and we didn’t know how long it had been off.  Turns out, my sister-in-law had pressed the wrong button and turned off the stove instead of the timer.  Well, needless to say, the turkey ended up taking a bit longer to cook than we had anticipated.  Thankfully, we had lots of side dishes, so we just started with those and cooked the turkey a bit longer and ended up nuking some of it to finish cooking it so we could eat.  Next time, I’m just going to order the turkey from Boston Market like we did a few years ago.  We also got stuff from Marie Callendar restaurants one year.  They are both very good and I highly recommend them if you don’t want to spend the entire day in the kitchen.

Oh, to top it all off, we got a phone call from my other brother, who’s a chef, to tease us about the debacle.  Ain’t family grand.

Another Thanksgiving, my 21st birthday happened to fall on the holiday.  I was a senior in college.  Hubby and I had been dating a couple of months and we had T-giving dinner at his place with a bunch of his friends.  No drunken 21st bday memories here, though.  I was getting over Mono, was still on medication and so couldn’t drink.  Sigh.

To see what other folks wrote for the Writer’s Workshop, visit the Mama’s Losin’ It site:

10 comments

  1. At least you had plenty of turkey for left overs! Haha. My Grandmother decided a few years back that it was time my sister and I learned how to cook the Thanksgiving dinner. When it came time to stuff the turkey, I couldn’t go through with it! It felt WRONG. I knew I wouldn’t eat that turkey if I physically had to stuff his hind quarters myself! Now, if g-ma is doing it… it’s ALL good!


  2. very funny – at least you will know how to cook a turkey in the future!
    You and me sound alike with situations b/t hubs!!


  3. I swear stuff only goes wrong when people are over. We had a turkey dinner with a friend once and she forgot to take out the platic bag with the innards AND cooked the thing upside down. We just laughed–glad it wasn’t me!

    Thanks for visiting and leaving nice comments on my blog.


  4. Thats a pretty funny story … the first time my sister cooked a turkey she just stuck it in the oven and left all the stuff inside the turkey. We still razz her about it lovingly ofcourse.


  5. You are to funny..
    I loved how you conveyed your memory..


  6. I hate it when that kind of stuff happens. One year my mom (who makes the best gravy on earth) went to strain the turkey parts out of the gravy and forgot to put a pan under the colander and all of the lovely gravy went down the sink…bummer man!


  7. I’m so awful at cooking! 😉 Every thanksgiving I’m calling someone every half an hour to figure out how to cook something.


  8. I have never made a turkey…I’m sure I would totally screw it up. At least you all made some nice memories!! 🙂


  9. We had a similar thing happen once. Although it wasn’t a turkey in the oven and the oven had burnt out. Don’t you just love kitchen mishaps.


  10. I remember cooking my first turkey & the oven didn’t get turned off, but it did get under cooked. ewwww!

    Had your other brother been there, he’d have been the hero & you wouldn’t have this fun story to share with us! Great post!



Leave a Reply

