h1

mommies unite

September 22, 2008

I write this at night, in the nursery after putting Princess in her crib.  Yes, you read that correctly, in her crib, in her own room.  For the second night, she is sleeping in her own room.  Before, we had her in a bassinet in our room, but since she went pretty much all last week sleeping until around 4 am (not including a couple of weird intruding wake ups around 2 after which she went right back to sleep) we decided it was time to move her to the crib.  She looks so much smaller in it, which is saying a lot.  She was almost as long as her bassinet.  I measured her the other night after I put her back down to sleep.  It was 5 in the morning and I looked at her and noticed how nice and straight she was laying and how much space she took up in the bassinet, so I ran downstairs and got my sewing measuring tape and measured her.  25 inches.  Granted, this is approximate.  The things you do at 5 in the morning after being up for an hour.  I will probably have a few early morning posts, too, especially since I’m now feeding her in the nursery instead of in bed.  So much for the lazy life.  But I figured, i usually end up in the nursery anyway because the rocking chair’s there and it helps her fall asleep quicker – very important in the middle of the night.

So, she did very well last night sleeping in the crib, and I did pretty good, too.  No panic attacks that she wasn’t in the room.  And I even turned on the radio to fall asleep to (though I was worried we wouldn’t be able to hear the monitor over the music and Hubby reassured me, proved correct when she made a sound and it came through loud and clear). It probably helps that I can leave the door to the nursery open, so I know if she were to cry I could still hear her.  We have a cat, but I doubt she’ll go into the crib.  I don’t know if she could even make it up there.  Sometimes she just barely makes it up on our bed.  The graceful acrobatic cat gene sort of skipped her.  Cute, yes.  Graceful, definitely not.  And the dog is in a crate at night.

So I had a pretty good weekend, even besides the whole child in her own room thing.  Saturday I hosted a jewelry party, you know, one of those things where you have a bunch of friends over and someone comes in and does a sales pitch for a product.  This one was for Premier Jewelry.  They have pretty nice things and the prices are pretty reasonable.  My friend hosted a party and for a discount on the stuff I bought there, I agreed to host a party too.  Of course, out of the 14 or so people I invited, only one came, but she brought a friend, so it wasn’t too bad.  Her hubby came and they both brought their kids, so the guys hung out most of the time with the kids.  Hubby took them to the part near the house so we had the house to ourselves for most of the time (Again, I love my hubby).  Even though it was a very small turnout (not sure if the weekend was just a bad weekend, no one wanted to come, or if it was because the seller didn’t give me the information early enough – side rant:I was going to send out e-vites or an e-mail to everyone a couple of months in advance and had asked the lady for the info I needed but she had issues with her e-mail and never got it to me, then she sent out e-vites herself through the company which took time because I had to get the e-mail list to her and then all the responses came to her, not me, so I had no idea who was coming or not…grrr) it went all right.  My mom and a friend had ordered a couple things before the party, too.  So I got free jewelry.  yea!  Maybe I’ll take a pic of my new sparklies when they come ing and post it up here.

Today I went to a nearby park and met with a mommy’s group.  It’s a new group and it was really nice.  The weather was great, so the park was a perfect place to meet.  It was also in the afternoon.  Most of the mom’s groups I’ve tried always schedule stuff in the mornings – it’s way too hard for me to get out of the house in the mornings.  I hate mornings. And I think my child may be a morning person, God help me.  But, I figure if she is, at least it will make it easier to get her up when she is older and has to go to school.  Anyway, there were two other babies there about the same age as Princess.  That’s another plus.  Most of the other mom’s groups are all toddlers.  So I am definitely going to stick with this group.  Yea!  New friends.  I’m not one of those people who has a boatload of friends.  I usually only have a few friends who I do things with.  Hubby is more of the people person, but a lot of the people he knows are single or younger or don’t have kids, so we’re not really in the same stage of life as they are.  And a lot of them are scientists or policy geeks, and thought they’re very nice, it’s hard for me to connect.

Well, I’m going to call it a night. All in all, a good weekend.  LOL.  I just peeked at Princess and she managed to get one arm out of the swaddle, so the one arm is just sticking up out of the blanket. I have to get a pic of that sometime.  Talk at ya later!

2 comments

  1. Hrmph! You’re replacing me 🙂

    I’m glad you found a good mommy’s group and I hope they all realize that you rock – if not, I’ll let the know 🙂


  2. I wouldn’t have to replace you if you came to visit once in a while. Are you going to come see the kid before she graduates from college?



Leave a Reply

