h1

Swaddle-me

September 11, 2008

So, last night we experimented with not swaddling Princess.  Usually, I feed her around 7 or 7:30 pm, then try to barely wake her up, just enough to eat, at 9:30.  After this, she generally drops right off to sleep, no problems.  So, I figured I’d try her without a swaddle at this time, since she usually just zonks.  Of course, not last night.  Go figure.  I fed her and waited and she fell asleep.  THen I put her in her bassinet.  She woke up.  SHe get s the squirmies and there’s nothing you can do but hold her still until she falls asleep.  So I did.  And she did.  And she woke up again.  At this point I was getting annoyed.  Usually, this is the time I relax, read a book, etc.  And she was eating into my Me time.  Hubby, sensing my frustration (probably because of the very loud “Go to sleep” pleading) came upstairs and took her and got her to sleep while I went to the bathroom and read.  Yes, I admit it, I am a bathroom reader.  Yea Hubby!

So we all went to sleep.  Then around 1:30 AM she woke herself up.  WTF!  1:30?!  So Hubby got up and tried to get her to go back to sleep, but was just getting frustrated, so I took her.  We decided to swaddle her again, so that meant changing her into something lighter since she had on a sleep sack.  I just put on the onesie I had picked for her to wear today.  It didn’t fit, but at 1:30 in the morning, I really didn’t care.  She could go without the snaps being done on the bottom (at 3 months old, she’s already wearing 6 month sized clothes).  So I got her back to sleep, it really didn’t take that long, and she slept until almost 5 AM.  Yea!

I miss sleep.  I remember when I could sleep until 9 or 10 some days – with not interruptions unless I had to pee.  Sigh.  I shouldn’t complain too much, though.  Princess isn’t too bad.  SHe only wakes once a night, anywhere between 2:30 and 4:30.  On the days he’s home, Hubby takes her in the morning so I I can catch another hour or 2 of sleep, since I’m the one who’s with her most of the time at night – he changes her diaper, gets her from the bassinet, hands her to me, and is promptly snoozing again.  That makes me so annoyed at times – He’s sleeping, the dog is sleeping, the cat is sleeping, the baby is drifting off to sleep – everyone but me.  I miss sleep.  And why is it you can never really catch up on what you miss?  OK enough with the ranting.  So, needless to say, the experiment was a failure.  

Next experiment: moving her to the crib in her room – as soon as she does a week of sleeping until at least 4 AM.

Leave a Reply

