h1

The Land of Ennui?

September 10, 2008

The “Land of Ennui” was the title of a story I started writing back in high school about a girl who daydreams all the time when she’s bored and she ends up in a different world called Ennui.  In the end, her travels in the land of Ennui turn out to be nothing more than a daydream.  I never did finish the story, but the title always stuck with me and it seemed a fitting name for a collection of my ramblings, rants, and interests.  

I intend for this blog to be a place for me to write about my adventures in the land of motherhood, both good and bad.  Here I will write about my efforts to work from home as a freelance graphic artist as I take care of my child at the same time.  I will post about my interests – what books I’m reading, fun sites I’ve found on the web, neat products you’ve just got to have, movies and anime I’m watching.  A warning: this will not be a G rated blog.  Also, A lot of the time I’m on the computer, I have a baby in my arms, which means there will probably be typos.  I will probably forget to check the spelling before I post, because I can’t remember my own name some days, and, quite frankly I’m a lazy ass, so Ill go back and edit posts later when I notice the errors.

For those too lazy to read the about me page, my name is Kelly.  I live in Virginia with my husband (hereafter referred to as Hubby) and 2 month old daughter (referred to as Princess).  I’m a stay-at-home mom trying to be a work-at-home mom as a freelance graphic artist – anyone need logos, business cards, magazines, ads, newsletters, etc. designed?  If you’re curious, feel free to check out my business site, Mythic Creations, for samples of what I do.  I’m also attempting to earn money with my online store through cafepress where I sell clothes and gifts with my designs.  I need to make money because Hubby is a full time PhD student in Public Policy.  He does some work for one of the professors at the university, and he does work as a part time contractor for a company, which we are hoping will turn into a full-time job as soon as they get the funding.  Whenever that will be.  I hate that word now – funding.

My interests are pretty varied.  I’m somewhere between a geek and a nerd.  I’m a big fan of the arts.  I love seeing plays, especially musicals, though, it’ll be kind of hard to see much of anything for a while, between the kid and expenses.  I also like ballets and operas.  I like all kinds of music, from classical to jazz to classic rock.  No hard rock or hip hop, though.  I listened to country when I was younger, but not anymore.  I love to read, mostly fantasy.  I write, too, though I haven’t done much lately.  Art is my passion as well as my job.  Nowadays it’s mostly on the computer, but I still sketch when I have a chance.  I’m a geek about computers and gadgets.  I’m a Mac girl through and through.  I like anime and manga (Japanese comic books) and comic books, though I’m not really into all the typical superhero stuff. And of course, as a new mom, I’m all about baby stuff now.

I think that’s about it for the intro.  Everything else will be covered in the life of the blog.  I will try to post as often as I can.  Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

